Don’t toss that burning cigarette from your vehicle … or you could face $1,025 fine

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
WHO Urges Smokers To Quit On World No Tobacco Day

(Photo by Justin Sullivan/Getty Images)

OLYMPIA, Wash. — The Washington State Patrol reminded drivers Wednesday that as conditions continue to dry out in the region and the threat of fires increase, it is illegal to discard burning tobacco products from the vehicles.

“Washington State Patrol Troopers will take appropriate enforcement … it is a class 1 civil infraction,” the WSP’s news release said.

The fine is $1,025.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.