WSU’s Mike Leach named Associated Press Pac-12 coach of the year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Washington State’s Mike Leach has been named the Associated Press college football coach of the year, after leading an unexpected turnaround in Pullman, helping the Cougars win eight games — their most since 2003.

Stanford’s Christian McCaffrey is the offensive player of the year and Oregon’s DeForest Buckner earned defensive honors on The Associated Press all-Pac-12 team.

McCaffrey, the runner-up to Heisman Trophy winner Derrick Henry of Alabama, broke Barry Sanders’ 37-year-old record for all-purpose yards in a season with 3,496.

Buckner led the Ducks with 16 tackles for loss, 9.5 sacks and 76 total tackles.

UCLA freshman quarterback Josh Rosen is the newcomer of the year in the AP’s first all-Pac-12 team since 1977.

Rosen threw for more than 3,330 yards and 20 touchdowns in his first season as the Bruins’ quarterback.

Notice: you are using an outdated browser. Microsoft does not recommend using IE as your default browser. Some features on this website, like video and images, might not work properly. For the best experience, please upgrade your browser.