Carmen Best will be next chief of Seattle Police Department

Seahawks announce Richard Sherman as 2015 ‘Man of the Year’

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.
Cornerback Richard Sherman #25 of the Seattle Seahawks (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

Cornerback Richard Sherman #25 of the Seattle Seahawks (Photo by Christian Petersen/Getty Images)

SEATTLE — The Seattle Seahawks announced Wednesday that cornerback Richard Sherman was selected as 2015 ‘Man of the Year’ for his performance on the field and community service.

Sherman is now eligible for the ‘Walter Payton Man of the Year Award,’ presented by Nationwide. It is the only league award that recognizes a player’s performance on the field and off-the-field service to the community.

He was raised in Compton, California and was a great athlete and a straight-A student in high school.

Sherman, now a three-time All-Pro selection, is dedicated to the importance of education for inner-city kids through his foundation ‘Blanket Coverage – The Richard Sherman Family Foundation.’ The organization helps provide school supplies and clothing to students in need.

Throughout the year, Sherman travels to schools and gives motivational speeches about hard work and goal-setting.

Sherman is a mentor to more than 50 high school students and actively monitors their grades.

Each holiday season, Sherman has supported families. Last December, he provided gifts to 25 families in need while also giving them items they really needed.

“We’re trying to help a lot of kids academically, to get themselves in a better position to be successful later on in life,” Sherman said. “That’s always the goal of our foundation and everything we do; all our efforts are focused on making sure the next generation has a better chance, especially focusing on kids in underprivileged neighborhoods and underfunded schools.”

Each finalist for the Walter Payton NFL Man of the Year Award will receive a $5,000 donation from the NFL Foundation and Nationwide to the charity of their choice.

Seattle Seahawks Man of the Year Selections

1976  T Norm Evans 1998  DT Sam Adams
1980  QB Jim Zorn 1999  QB Jon Kitna
1981  DT Manu Tuiasosopo 2000  QB Jon Kitna
1982  CB Dave Brown 2001  QB Brock Huard
1983  WR Paul Johns 2002  QB Trent Dilfer
1984  P Jeff West 2003  QB Matt Hasselbeck
1985  TE Mike Tice 2004  FB Mack Strong
1986  TE Mike Tice 2005  RB Shaun Alexander
1987  TE Mike Tice 2006  CB Marcus Trufant
1988  WR Steve Largent 2007  WR Bobby Engram
1989  K Norm Johnson 2008  DE Patrick Kerney
1990  DE Jacob Green 2009  CB Josh Wilson
1991  S Eugene Robinson 2010  CB Roy Lewis
1992  S Eugene Robinson 2011  TE John Carlson
1993  S Eugene Robinson 2012  T Russell Okung
1994  WR Brian Blades 2013  WR Doug Baldwin
1995  S Eugene Robinson 2014  QB Russell Wilson
1996  K Todd Peterson 2015  CB Richard Sherman