Clue left behind with infant’s body in woods: Do you recognize this towel?

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

NORTH BEND —  At the Eastside Fire & Rescue station in North Bend, firefighters are well-equipped to take care of a newborn baby.  In fact, the station and all fire stations in Washington are designated “Safe Havens,” where people can bring babies within 72 hours of delivery.

14-037650 towel photo

Do you recognize this towel? This towel was found with a dead baby Wednesday in North Bend.

For whatever reason, someone dumped an infant with the umbilical cord still attached in a wooded area in the 38800 block of North Bend Way.  A passer-by found it Wednesday, along with a full-size faded black towel with colored squares.  The towel is from Target and is part of the Home Collection brand.

The King County Sheriff’s Office says they’re hoping someone recognizes it and contacts them at (206) 296-3311 or 1-800-222-TIPS.  Callers can remain anonymous and could receive up to a $1,000 reward.

Firefighters on duty in North Bend Thursday are having a tough time coping with what has happened.

“It’s really difficult.  When I came into work this morning, it was obvious it had been a rough night for everyone.  It takes a toll,” said Lt. Chris Logan.

Michelle Walsh, with Safe Place for Newborns of Washington, helped push the passage of the Newborn Safety Act in the state in 2002.  It says that within 72 hours of a baby being delivered, a mother or friend can bring that child to a fire station, emergency room, or designated medical clinic anonymously.

“This young woman probably didn’t have any support.  She probably delivered the baby by herself and was scared,” said Walsh.  “I wish she would have known that, with this law, there’s no blame, no shame and the mother does not even have to give her name.  She can just be Jane Doe.”

safeplaceSince the law passed, there have been 44 babies dropped off at these designated locations in Washington state.  For more information on the Newborn Safety Act and to find a designated safe drop-off location near you, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


  • The World is Ending

    There is never a reason to abandon a baby as stated they can be left at any fire station within 72 hours of birth, and if the mom can't care for them there are legal options, most Catholic Churches will take and care for them, or (I hate to say it because of all the trouble they have had as of late) CPS will take them.