Q13 FOX Season of Giving

Russell Wilson named NFL.com Rookie of the Year

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

seahawaksBy Clare Farnsworth 


SEATTLE — Those who voted for NFL Rookie of the Year at NFL.com saw something that eluded those with votes for NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year: Russell Wilson had a greater impact on his team than any of the players selected before him, or after him, in last April’s NFL Draft.

The Seahawks’ rookie quarterback was named NFL Rookie of the Year on Saturday night during an awards ceremony in New Orleans as determined by fan vote. Earlier, it was announced that Wilson had finished third in balloting for Associated Press NFL Offensive Rookie of the Year behind winner Robert Griffin III of the Washington Redskins and Andrew Luck of the Indianapolis Colts.

In voting for NFL Rookie of the Year at NFL.com, Wilson received more votes than those other quarterbacks as well as Redskins running back Alfred Morris and running back Doug Martin of the Tampa Bay Buccaneers.

One factor in the contradictory nature of the outcomes could be that voting for the NFL.com honor lasted longer, so Wilson benefited from playing progressively better as the season progressed – and was the last of the rookie QBs standing in the playoffs, as Wilson and the Seahawks eliminated RGIII and the Redskins in the wild-card round, when Luck and the Colts also lost.

For more on this Seahawks.com story, click here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s