No Triple Crown winner at Preakness Stakes

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

Robert K. Hamilton / Baltimore Sun

MARYLAND — Oxbow was the winner of the 138th Preakness Stakes on Saturday.

The winner, a long shot ridden by Gary Stevens, led from start to finish at Pimlico Race Course in Maryland.

Oxbow was coming off a sixth-place finish in the Kentucky Derby, where he made a move for the lead in the final turn but faded.

Itsmyluckyday finished second and Mylute was third.

Race favorite Orb’s hopes for a Triple Crown were dashed, coming in fourth. Orb was ridden by Joel Rosario, who guided the 3 year old to victory in the Kentucky Derby two weeks ago.

The last Triple Crown was won by Affirmed in 1978. All together 11 horses have won Triple Crowns.

The third leg of the Triple Crown, the Belmont Stakes, is set for June.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s