SCHOOL CLOSURE: Slyvester Middle School in the Highline Public Schools district closed today due to power outage

Drunken boat drivers: How would you like $5,000 fine or year in jail?

mandrinking1

(Photo: U.S. Coast Guard)

OLYMPIA — Gov. Jay Inslee signed a bill Thursday that changes Washington’s boating safety laws and gets tough on boaters operating under the influence, with offenders facing up to a year in jail or a maximum fine of $5,000.

The changes go into effect July 28.

The bill strengthens Washington’s boating under the influence (BUI) law by making the penalty for BUI a gross misdemeanor punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000 and 364 days in jail. Additionally, the law now allows for implied consent, which means an officer can require a boat operator to take a breath or blood test if the officer believes the operator is boating under the influence. If the operator refuses, he/she could be issued a $1,000 civil infraction.

“Washington has a long history of being a maritime state. We need to keep boating safe and fun, and this legislation will help us do that. I’m delighted that by working with our state partners and boating stakeholders, we were able to develop legislation that everyone could agree to,” said Washington State Parks Director Don Hoch.

The new law also gives marine law enforcement officers the ability to hold negligent or reckless boaters accountable and the authority to issue citations for vessel accidents they did not witness.

“This is a great change and something we’ve needed for a long time. We’ve had this authority on land, but we lacked it on the water. I think this is really going to help us educate boaters about the importance of the boating rules of the road,” said Ed Holmes, Mercer Island police chief and president of the Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs.

According to State Parks data, alcohol is a factor in 30 percent of boating fatalities. The law change was intended to deter BUI by increasing the penalty and introducing implied consent in the form of a monetary penalty – not tied to the driver’s license.

Other changes to the law include the following:

  1. Testing language consistent with driving under the influence (DUI) procedures: The statute was updated to reference the breath and blood testing procedures used in DUI cases. These procedures have been thoroughly tested in court.
  2. Marijuana references added: The statute was updated with marijuana references that mirror language in Initiative 502, which made the recreational use of marijuana legal.
  3. Test refusal is not admissible in court: The statute makes it clear that a boater’s refusal to submit to either a breath or blood test cannot be used as evidence in a court of law.
  4. Recreational vessel rentals: The statue makes it clear that rented vessels must have all safety equipment, be properly registered and meet all other state requirements.

For more information on boating regulations, visit www.boat.wa.gov

1 Comment

  • Bootlegger59

    Hey, the tighter the batter. A year in jail?……..not enough, how about, at least TWO years in jail! Stupid people, just don't know when to not drink and drive!! What are they……..just too darned stupid to be trusted to make good decisions, I guess because they have pea brains and can't function!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s